Municipality of Souris-Glenwood

INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING - MINUTES Tuesday November 2nd, 2022

Oath of Office was declared by Mayor Duane Davison, Councillors Bruce Apperley, Donald Brown, Blake Denbow, Kim Eissner, Darcy Gerow, and Todd Walker, elected to Municipality of Souris-Glenwood Council on October 26th, 2022.

The Council for the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood held its Inaugural Meeting duly assembled in the Council Chambers of the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood on Tuesday November 2nd, 2022 at 5:45 p.m.

Members Present: Mayor Duane Davison, Councillors Bruce Apperley, Donald Brown, Blake Denbow, Kim Eissner, Darcy Gerow, Todd Walker and CAO Charlotte Parham

1. Agenda Resolution No. 2022-216

Moved by Councillor T. Walker: Seconded by Councillor K. Eissner **BE IT RESOLVED** that the agenda of the Inaugural Meeting of Council be adopted as presented.

CARRIED

2. Roles & Responsibilities

Brief review of Council information

a) By-laws provided to Council members for review

a. 01-2015 – Organizational By-law

b. 02-2015 – Procedure By-law

c. 37-2020 - Council Code of Conduct By-law

d. 42-2022 – Indemnity By-law

3. Appointments

a. Deputy Mayor

Resolution No. 2022-217 Moved by Councillor B. Apperley: Seconded by Councillor B. Denbow

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council for the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood appoint Councillor Donald Brown as Deputy Mayor.

CARRIED

b. Standing Committees

Resolution No. 2022-218

Moved by Councillor T. Walker: Seconded by Councillor D. Brown

BE IT RESOLVED that the following Standing Committees be hereby appointed with the first name as the Chairperson of the Committee for a term expiring November 14, 2023

LEGISLATION & FINANCE	Gerow, Apperley, Davison, Denbow	
PERSONNEL & POLICY	Walker, Davison	
PROTECTIVE SERVICES	Brown, Davison	
TRANSPORTATION SERVICES (Public Works/Utility)		
	Walker, Davison, Brown, Apperley	
ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SERVICES and WATER & SEWER UTILITY		
combi	ned with Transportation Services Committee	
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SERVICES/ PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT		
	Walker, Davison, Eissner	
RECREATION & CULTURE	Eissner, Gerow	
TOURISM & HERITAGE	Gerow, Eissner	
CARRIED		

c. Boards and Committees

Resolution No. 2022-219

Moved by Councillor B. Denbow: Seconded by Councillor B. Apperley

BE IT RESOLVED that the following Council Members be hereby appointed to the Boards/Committees listed below for a term expiring November 14th, 2023:

Airport Commission Davison, Eissner, Brown, Apperley Central Assiniboine Watershed District Walker-(Souris River), Denbow-(Little Souris) Souris River Watershed District Walker-(Chain Lakes/Elgin Creek), Brown- (Pipestone Creek)

Beautification Committee	Eissner	
Board of Revision	Council as a Whole	
Civic Centre Committee/Handi-Transit	Brown, Eissner, Denbow, Walker	
Glenwood-Souris Regional Library	Denbow	
Souris-Glenwood Fire Department	Brown, Davison	
Souris & Glenwood Cemetery Board	Brown, Apperley	
Souris-Glenwood Community Development Corp	Davison, Eissner	
Souris & Glenwood Foundation	Denbow, Gerow	
Souris - Glenwood Department of Parks & Recreation Gerow, Davison		
Souris & Glenwood Veterinary District	Brown, Walker	
Souris Hospital District Foundation	Davison	
Victoria Park Lodge	Gerow, Brown, Apperley, Eissner	
Southwest Weed District	Brown, Walker	
Souris Heritage Club	Gerow, Eissner	

CARRIED

d. Signing Authority

Resolution No. 2022-220

Moved by Councillor K. Eissner: Seconded by Councillor T. Walker **BE IT RESOLVED** that the signing authority for the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood in accordance with the Organizational By-Law No. 01-2015 be as follows:

- Mayor, Duane Davison, <u>or</u> Deputy Mayor, Donald Brown <u>or</u> Member of Council, Darcy Gerow; And
- b) the Chief Administrative Officer(CAO), Charlotte Parham or Chief Financial Officer, (CFO) Pamela Pannagl.

CARRIED

4. Upcoming Meetings and Events

Resolution No. 2022-221

Moved by Councillor B. Apperley: Seconded by Councillor B. Denbow

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council for the Municipality of Souris-Glenwood authorize the Mayor, Councillors and Chief Administrative Officer to attend the annual Conference of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities scheduled for November 20th to 23rd, 2022 in Winnipeg, Manitoba; expenses incurred be paid in accordance with Indemnity By-law No. 42-2022.

CARRIED

5. Adjourn

Resolution No. 2022-222

Moved by Councillor B. Apperley: Seconded by Councillor B. Denbow **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Inaugural meeting of Council does now adjourn at 6:44 p.m. CARRIED

Mayor Duane Davison

CAO Charlotte Parham